top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejoliejo.blogs

granny.

When I think of someone who inspires me I think of someone by the name of Virginia Dickerson, my 101 year old great grandmother. Her lovely soul is an inspiration to everyone around her and it shows. Her smile is proof that there still is some good in this world. And for these reasons I am so proud to call her my Granny.

Here's a little bit about this lady. She had nine kids, yes you heard me correctly, nine children. That's nine mouths to feed, nine different kids to keep up with and set a good example for. Somehow she managed to get them to church every time the doors were open. To this day I still don't see how she did it, all of her kids are faithful Christians with great kids and so on and so forth.


Her cute antidotes about her younger years are one of my absolute favorite things about her. Just about every time I visit her she's telling a story. And it's not just her stories that make her funny, it's her personality. One time I was sitting on the couch at her house when a telemarketer called, she picked up and said hello. The guy on the other end was like "Hello, how are you?" and she responded with "Just as I please", hung up the phone, then looked around at all of us and goes "Well." She's a character and I LOVE it.


She laughs when her kids (ages 60-80) talk about how much medicine they have to take and how many doctors they have to see because she rarely has to go to the doctor. Her days are simple, sitting in her rocking chair and sleeping (living the life in my opinion). It's crazy how she can still for the most part get around on her own. Sometimes I wonder if she really is 101 haha. I thank God that I've gotten to know this lovely lady. Oh and not to mention, back in the day (ok it was probably only 4 years ago) she made the best French toast. I don't even like French toast but it was good. Speaking of her good cooking, some of my family put together a cook book of all of her old recipes. I think it'll always be my favorite cookbook.


I strive to be like her. Being caring, a faithful Christian, and keeping other's lives interesting. Thank you for taking the time to read this story about this lady who I love so dearly. Below are some pictures that I took at her 101st birthday party.
















23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page