top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejoliejo.blogs

20 years from now

I think just about everyone has life goals. Depending on your personality, interests, and background; our goals may be different. I'm not talking smaller short term goals like learn to play guitar or improve your handwriting, I'm talking long term goals that we can dream about until we make it happen. Now I'm no Picasso, but I'd like to think that I've painted a pretty good picture of what I want my life to look like in the future.

Please forgive me, my goals are a bit..well...scattered and lengthy. To start off, college. I would love to go to Baylor University and major in interior design. Ever since I found the show Fixer Upper I have been working on improving my interior design skills in my free time. From drawing out blueprints to spending hours on end looking at old houses on Zillow, imagining how I would fix it up. After college I would love to move into an apartment in Austin and work for an interior design firm down there (Greer Interior Design is my absolute dream). I hope that all of my research and practice will pay off in the future.


While living in Austin, I hope to continue blogging. It has seriously been this huge creative outlet that I never knew I needed. Some day I hope to be working with brands like Old Navy, Roolee, and maybe even have my own clothing line. Running my blog would be amazing, but I am also super interested in starting my own freelance photography business. Nothing too big, maybe just stuff like senior pictures and engagement pictures. For the past year or so I've learned so much about photography and have seriously just fallen in love with it. From getting the smiles on people's faces to the editing and turning the average picture into something great with a preset and maybe some cropping. The feeling is truly so rewarding.

So from reading this you may think that I want to be this goal driven, independent, woman. Which ironically isn't the case. Sure I would like to be more goal driven than I am now but my absolute dream would to be to have a family. Something about living in a beautiful farmhouse on a piece of land somewhere in Texas just sounds like home. I want to fill said home with love, laughter, and a bunch of mini Jolies and mini (whomever my future husband may be)s. My main goal would be to have all of my kids be devoted Christians and a big part of that would be marrying someone who will be a great teammate. Someone who loves God first and just makes me a better person. If there's anything I've learned from my married family members is that its good to have a balance. For example, my dad is very goofy and likes to embarrass us but my mom on the other hand is more quiet and they're a great team.


I know this is a dangerous game I'm playing, planning all of this out and all. I have to keep reminding myself that the only things that will happen are the things that God allows to happen. Obviously my life isn't gonna go exactly how I planned it out but I'm confident that as long as I become more and more devoted to becoming a better Christian, I'm gonna turn out just fine because my reward beyond this life will be so much better than anything I could receive here.


And on that note, I'm gonna end this post. Thank you so much for reading this, it means so much to me. I would love some feedback on how I can improve. Until next time,

-Jo

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page